C-CHANGE Conference Agenda

Why are we missing the boat on biogas?


Monday, October 19, 2020, Noon to 4:00 pm CDT

12:00 – 12:45 pm CDT: Welcome and conference vision 

Lisa Schulte Moore, C-CHANGE Director, Associate Director of the Bioeconomy Institute, Iowa State University
Tom Richard, Director of Institutes for Energy and the Environment, Penn State University

12:45 – 2:20 pm CDT: Keynote presentations on growth opportunities for biogas and renewable natural gas followed by moderated Q&A 

Rudi Roeslein, Founder and CEO of Roeslein Alternative Energy
David Babson, Program Director at the Advanced Research Projects Agency-Energy, US Department of Energy
Debi Durham, Executive Director of Iowa Economic Development Authority and Iowa Finance Authority
Faizal Hassan, Director of Biogas Marketing, Element Markets

2:20 – 2:30 pm CDT: Break

2:30 – 3:00 pm CDT: Breakout session with moderated panel discussions in three virtual rooms as follows:

Anaerobic Digestion
Shelly Peterson (Moderator), Iowa Economic Development Authority
Dan Andersen, Iowa State University
Greg Faith, VERBIO
Brandon Julian, Pure Energy Group
Stephanie Lansing, University of Maryland
Brett Reinford, Reinford Farms
Bryan Sievers, AgriRenew

Zhiyou Wen (Moderator), Iowa State University
Robert Brown, Iowa State University
Bruce Dale, Michigan State University
Jens Dancer, Gross-Wen Technologies
Mark Mba Wright, Iowa State University
Shawn Semones, Anuvia Plant Nutrients

Distribution & Markets
Chris Anderson (Moderator), Renewable Energy Group
Saurabh Bansal, Penn State University
Joe Kramer, GSD Associates
Brad Pleima, EcoEngineers
Scott Reisling, Black Hills Energy
Tim Rooney, Antares

3:00 – 3:10 pm: Break

3:10 – 3:40 pm CDT: Breakout session with moderated panel discussions in three virtual rooms as follows:

Ray Gaesser (Moderator), Gaesser Farms
Emily Heaton, Iowa State University
Heather Karsten, Penn State University
John Murphy, Roeslein Alternative Energy
Maria Salas Fernandez, Iowa State University
Kraig Westerbeek, Smithfield Foods
Kristi Shaw, CleanBay Renewables
Policy and Financing
Kayla Bergman (Moderator), Center for Rural Affairs
Amie Davidson, Iowa Department of Natural Resources
Paul Greene & Daniel Hirl, Montrose Environmental
Nicole Jennett, Jennett Consulting
Lester Krone & Daniel Copple, Leyline Renewable Capital
Fred Petok, USDA Rural Development

Societal Value
J. Arbuckle (Moderator), Iowa State University
Steph Herbstritt, Penn State University
Craig Just, University of Iowa
Jason Russell, Big Boulder Farms
Matt Russell, Iowa Interfaith Power & Light
Ernie Shea, Solutions from the Land

3:40 – 4:00 pm CDT: Next steps

Report Out and Next Steps
Wrap Up and Farewell

Download the conference program here.

Thank you to our supporting sponsors. This conference is free because of their support.